Meditations (Web)Church

A year (and a bit) in the life of NewSpring's first Web pastor

NewSpring’s web pastor is a trichotillomaniac

leave a comment »

When is male pattern baldness not male pattern baldness?

When you’ve got a minor (yeah, right) obsessive-compulsive disorder that leads you to pull your own hair out.

There’s a medical disgnosis for everything it seems. And in my case, I’ve known for years that I have trichotillomania.

At times when I’m stressed, worried or just thinking really hard, I’ll instinctively, compulsively, twist a few strands of hair on my head or body and keep doing it until it falls out or gets knotted so badly that I have to pull it out.

I end up having to shave my head just so there isn’t any hair to pull. Today was one of those days.

A coping mechanism for sure. A solution? Not so much.

So why am I telling you this? I have no idea.

Maybe it’s my self-consciousness about the fact that I’m going to be standing in front of a camera pretty soon and baldness makes me look 10 years older than I really am.

Maybe it’s because I’m wondering whether there might be fellow sufferers out there. As we know, God can use the strangest things ….

I would certainly love to come up with a nice Biblical bon mot that can encourage someone. Sadly, no.

I’ve tried prayer to rid me of it. And I’ve tried drugs.

So far, this thorn remains in my flesh.

So if you thought you were freaky, I got you beat.

Right?

Written by NickCharalambous

January 9, 2009 at 4:12 pm

Posted in ruminations

Leave a Reply

