Meditations (Web)Church

A year (and a bit) in the life of NewSpring's first Web pastor

My definition of church success

with 6 comments

When I’m asked how I know whether the NewSpring Web Campus is working, I’m not settling for any standard of success lower than this:

Everyone evangelizing.

Everyone pastoring.

Everyone discipling.

Everyone serving.

Everyone meeting needs.

That’s was the gist of my remarks at the end of Monday’s interview with Tony Morgan.

I guess you could say I was on a soapbox, again.

Here’s what got my dander up: All of us, me included, get so wrapped up in talk about the importance of community — and the new fake measurables of community, like friends, and fans and followers and comments — that we’re constantly in denial of how badly each of us, as the church, has really lived it day-to-day.

How much time do I spend every day really getting to know and love others? Is the other stuff I spend my time doing really more important? What does it say about my heart?

That’s right: Community is a heart condition.

You don’t see fruit for evangelism or discipleship, really, not with something as dangerous and explosive as the Gospel without real, honest-to-goodness, investment in the lives of other people. (And yes, that can happen online just as authentically as offline.)

Community is life on life. Many to Many.

Not few to many.

Not many to few.

Many to many.

And you can’t do that without the heart of Christ.

That’s a pretty good measuring stick, wouldn’t you say?

The fake community bubble is about to burst according to this and this social media guru.

Thank God. There’s less to distract us.

Now how do we get there?

Written by NickCharalambous

February 10, 2009 at 10:41 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice vision, don’t back away from it… I’ll be trying my best to do the same… we should all be doing so, whatever Church we belong to

    Nathan Edwards

    February 10, 2009 at 11:09 am

    • Thanks. I’m really interested in doing whatever I can to support, nurture and encourage the British church. I’d love to hang out electronically with you soon.

      ipiphanist

      February 10, 2009 at 11:37 am

  2. Seeing God word in the manner he has since launching is all the proof I need. If you truly have a passion for leading people to Christ it shouldn’t matter how it’s acheived.

    rhonda evatt

    February 10, 2009 at 5:42 pm

  3. Awesome post Nick! While reading it only one thing came into my mind. What if the there was a place on the newspring website, be it on the web campus site or somewhere else, that there was almost always someone online to chat with if people needed it. Possibly a way to bouild the relationship with all the people you get there on Sunday but during the week. Not really sure how it would be done but just an idea! Keep it man!!!

    Craig Walker

    February 11, 2009 at 9:15 am

    • I’ve been thinking through that recently … i think, when the web campus matures as a ministry, that will be very doable. Thanks for the encouragement!

      ipiphanist

      February 11, 2009 at 10:38 am

  4. [...] a peak at my heart on this, take a look here. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Reflections on an amazing beta test of the [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

